7.5 Actions Quiz, Error while creating custom Interface

Hello, I am constantly getting an error while doing “colcon build --packages-select actions_quiz_msg” , please help me if you have any solution for this error…Thanks in advance

Terminal:-

Packages.xml

CmakeList.txt

Directory:-

Hi @siddhantdiwaker.sd! I’m not an expert on this so just throwing suggestions around. Did you forget to add the required dependencies to your package.xml?

<buildtool_depend>rosidl_default_generators</buildtool_depend> 

Regards,
Ernest

hey,
Thanks for your reply, but still it doesn’t work, I am getting the same error…

Throwing out another suggestion:

Build Clean: Sometimes, build issues can occur due to remnants of previous build attempts, especially if building on a new machine. Try cleaning the build directory before building the package again. You can do this by running the following command from your ROS2 workspace root directory (e.g. ros2_ws): sudo rm -r build install log . After that, try to build the package again: colcon build to build ALL packages

already did, nothing’s working

Hello @ernest.cheong.ec
Thanks for your reply, I have tried it, but it doesn’t work…
Regards.

Hi @siddhantdiwaker.sd unfortunately I can’t spot what else might be the issue from the screenshots you sent and from my experience and knowledge.

If you haven’t already, a good problem solving technique is to google (or chatgpt) the error that you are getting, specifying your circumstances and the key things you did to get to this point.

Perhaps you could also backtrack and go back to the point in time when things worked? What was different then versus now?

Sorry for not having a specific solution- I understand it must be frustrating.

Regards,
A fellow learner

1 Like

Hi @ernest.cheong.ec