Exercise 3.1 please explain the python code exercise31.py in detail

I am new to ros. Could you please add more explanation to the Python code of the exercise solution?

Why do you combine publisher and subscriber into one node?

What is the meaning of the Twist message? We know it represents the velocity of three directions but what exactly x, y, z means in terms of a robot? Could you please share a figure? I believe it is different for different robots. It would be nice if you distinguished it instead of just giving us a solution without any explanation.
I searched online, it shows that “For a ground robot, most probably your angular velocity will be in z i.e. robot’s turning speed. And your linear velocity will be mostly in x i.e. robot’s moving straight speed.” However, how can we know setting angular.z to a positive number means turning left instead of right?

In the laser_callback function, how can you know the meaning of the range[359] of the message? WHy does it mean the laser beam of 0 degree?

Hi @min.wang.1997.01.13!

Starting foremost with your inquiry regarding the idea of combining publishers and subcribers, our goal for this exercise is to conduct a control scheme for our robot to essentially be able to stop once it detects a wall. Now, for this, we will need the inclusion of a subscriber and a publisher.

Going foremost into the subscriber, its primary purpose if for us to let the robot acquire information about the distance that has been detected in its frontmost sensor. After this, the question then is what will we do with this information? Based on the premise of the problem, our goal is to have the robot traverse in a circular manner then later on shifting to linear and eventually stopping depending on the distance recorded by the sensor. To do this, we then implement a publisher which will then publish the velocities into the /cmd_vel topic which our robot essentially acquires its movement from.